Teacher of the Year 2023

Tea Area School District Seeking Nominations for 2023 Teacher of the Year

By: Dr. Jennifer Nebelsick Lowery

As we near the end of the school year, the Tea Area School District is partnering with the Tea Area Parent Teacher Organization (TAPTO) to celebrate our teachers. We are grateful for our partnership with TAPTO and the greater Tea Area Community. Teacher of the Year is annually awarded to honor distinguished teachers in the Tea Area School District. The awards for the finalists and the Teacher of the Year recipient are made possible through the generous support of area businesses. We have a great public school system because of the incredible individuals in our community who serve our kids. We are asking for your help in celebrating these incredible teachers. Please join TAPTO, local businesses, and the Tea Area School District by nominating an outstanding Titan teacher. 

Our Teacher of the Year serves as the District’s nomination for Regional Teacher of the Year; therefore, the nominees must be certified, full-time Tea Area School District teachers in grades JK - 12 or Special Education Preschool. They must have been in education for 5 years and served in the Tea Area School District for 3 years. While vital to our District's success, ancillary district personnel serving in support roles are not eligible for this award. These individuals are celebrated within the District’s Standards of Excellence - Employee of the Year. If a teacher has won the award during the past five years, he/she is not eligible.

2018 Travis Ehrisman
2019 Janice Gilbert
2020 Kristi Desaulniers
2021 Sarah Spilde
2022 Laura Berg

The educator must continue to be a Tea Area School District Teacher in 2023-2024. 

Please visit the link HEREor scan QR below. If you have any questions or need a paper copy, please contact the District Office at 605-498-2700 ext 5. 

All nominations are due Friday, April 14th, 2023 at 8:00AM.

Thank you for taking the time to honor a Tea Area School District Teacher. Finalists will be announced on Monday, May 8th, 2023.  The Teacher of the Year winner will be announced during the Monday, May 15th, 2023 JK-12 Graduation Award program. 

Scan the QR Code to begin nominating a teacher.